Friday, January 27, 2012

New release: Music inspired by the writings of Isaac Asimov

In possibly his most nerdy move yet, Lee Rosevere's latest project is music inspired by the writing of Isaac Asimov, known for his many science-fiction stories.

Each composition is named after the corresponding sci-fi short story (sorry you'll have to visit your library or download a complete collection of short stories to read the originals, copyright infringement and all that).

Similar in style to the three installments of the Light Years albums (I, II and III), the music is reminiscent of unofficial scores for non-existent sci-fi movies. It isn't essential to be familiar with the Asimov stories the songs are named after, but it does enhance the listening experience. Lee's comments on each track are available in the liner notes below.

Artwork: Front | Back | Inner Liner Notes (doc)

Stream album | Download album

Tracks: (320 kbps)

1. Multivac

2. Dreaming Is A Private Thing

3. The Machine That Won The War

4. It's Such A Beautiful Day

5. Eyes Do More Than See

6. The Dead Past

7. Gimmicks Three

8. The Ugly Little Boy

9. The Last Question

10. Nightfall

Video: "Le Voyage Dans La Lune (The Machine That Won The War)"

mp4 | ogg | wmv

Cover photo by Andy Morris (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)