Sunday, May 29, 2011

Attention Greg R. Roth of the Mizalites!

Hello friends... Lee R. here, looking to see if there is anyone out there who might know or be able to contact a Mr. Greg R. Roth, who once recorded under the band name The Mizalites from Winnipeg.

I have a cassette of this band that I would like to reissue on Happy Puppy (for free download of course), but I have no contact info for Greg. I found this tape in Winnipeg, at a Sam The Record Man (remember them?) around 1995/96. The date on the tape is 1993, Castle 1 Band Records.. it looks like this:

I've googled and googled, and even contacted the public library in Winnipeg for contact info, but they have nothing.

If you're reading this Greg R. Roth (or you are someone who knows him) please send me an email!

Even if you don't want Happy Puppy to re-release it, please email me anyway as I know there is a CD version of this music and I'd like to upgrade my tape - and I'd love to see the video for "Jet ride" (apparently it was on a DVD with the CD version).

There are 10 tracks:

1. Jet Ride
2. Summer Dreams
3. This little town
4. Take a chance
5. I wonder how
6. Please wait
7. Don't dial
8. Travelling through a bright nebula
9. Spring is here
10. If the Sun's still shining tomorrow

and here's a sample of "Jet Ride":

Thanks! Back to regularly scheduled announcements now.

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Acid House Kings remixed by Lee


We are terribly excited around here as Lee's bossa nova lounge remix of Acid House Kings latest single "Would You Say Stop" is included on their new EP!

You can listen to it below or download the original single for free!

Thanks to AHK! Proceeds from the sale of the EP go to Wateraid.

Friday, May 6, 2011

May updates!

Some of Lee's ambient tracks have been added to the playlist for the You Are Listening To... website - this is a neat site that plays random tracks via soundcloud and juxtaposes them with streaming audio from police radio scanners. You can choose difference cities like Chicago, LA, Montreal and our thanks to Eric, who runs the site for adding us.

Graffiti Mechanism returns to the label with a brand new release - Fueled By Emotion - consisting of spacy, electronic ambient sounds - this time with more dark textures.

Happy Puppy is very proud to release the first volume in the series King For A Day: a fan tribute to XTC! Originally these cover tunes were released on cassette in the mid-90s, and the first volume concentrates on the first tape from 1996. Also, you don't have to wait and purchase all 134 covers at once on a CD-R for really cheap!

More very very soon!